Mercedes GLC Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

Made the decision today to get a GLC over a Q5 (currently own an A3). the big decision for me is whether to go for the petrol or diesel.

Im not really a car expert, i just know what i like the look of.

would appreciate any advice on whether to go for the petrol or diesel. ill probably do around 10,000 miles per year but mostly A and B roads, dont use the motorway much.

Chris

·
Super Moderator
1,144 Posts
Welcome to the forum, can you please fill in your location in your profile as some questions/answers are market specific.
At the moment my answer would be to go for petrol with all the bad publicity regarding diesel, who knows in 12 months it may be petrol with all the bad publicity.

·
Registered
93 Posts
If you don't do regular long runs on motorways I would avoid diesel as you will just have DPF problems down the line . I think the resale value of diesels is going to drop quite fast in the coming years as they become very expensive to maintain .

·
Registered
17 Posts
I picked up a brand new 250 petrol 4 weeks ago. Driven diesel SUVs for years and love the near silent running especially around town. Power delivery feels different to a torquey diesel but the petrol is marginally quicker across the range I believe.

Only downside is that I haven’t gotten above 28 MPG yet. I don’t drive it particularly hard but only do 5-6k miles a year with mostly short journeys.

Still happy with my choice though and would recommend it.

Note: I got a Premium Plus with metallic paint, 20” wheels and running boards for £35.5k so there are deals to be had!

·
Registered
93 Posts